RIAA v. Joel Tenenbaum

Image representing RIAA, Recording Industry As...Image via CrunchBase

Early this morning, I Stumbled Upon Joel Tenenbaum's blog about his fight with the RIAA. After reading that coupled with the story that the Guardian published today, I fail to see what the RIAA hopes to accomplish. They are taking Joel to court because he shared 30 songs. Originally, they asked for a settlement of $3,000. Joel sent them $500 saying that it was as much as he could afford. The RIAA felt that this was not acceptible. They had his computer seized and hard drive taken as evidence. They have done everything that they legally can to make his life as hard as possible. Luckily Professor Nesson of Harvard Law heard of his plight and offered his help as well as the help of his students. This is where we stand now.

I cannot understand what they plan to accomplish. Even if the RIAA wins the case, there is no way that they can collec the money because Joel simply does nothave it. He is not even paying for his legal counsel. They can try to make an example of Joel, but Joel already has thousands, maybe even millions of dedicated supporters. The RIAA is only costing themselves legal fees. If they lose Prof. Nesson will definitely file a countersuit, which will be successful. The RIAA has dug themselves into a hole that they can't get out of.

My prediction Joel Tenebaum 1, RIAA 0, Joel worlds newest millionaire
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Update: What's Been Going on Lately

Warrior Lacrosse, Inc.Image via Wikipedia

On July 6, I returned home from the Vail Shootout. I had a great time, worked my ass off, made a few bucks, and bought a new head for my stick. Sorry no pics from Vail. (No camera, and no phone) I bought a Brine Clutch to put on my Warrior Titan Classic. Since I have been back, I have been playing summer lacrosse with my friends from school. We have a lot of incoming freshmen and very little leadership on the part of our returning players, which is why we have lost every game thus far. No worries though. Still having fun!

I have also begun working out three to four times a week lifting and running. On Thursday, we went to Red Rocks Amphitheater as part of the workout. We run up the rows over and over again to improve speed and endurance as well as various other drills such as Squirrel Scampers. This coupled with the workout from the day before was enough to make me sore until yesterday.


On Xbox Live I have been taking ass and kicking names on Call of Duty World at War. I have gone up numerous ranks as well as upping my overall K/D ratio by 5 percentage points putting me at an embarrassing 81% :(

That is all that I have to report at the moment. Will write again hopefully tomorrow!
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]